Skip to main content

Academic Advising Council

The MCC Academic Advising Council was created to serve as an advisory board for Academic Advising. They give counsel to the Academic Advising program on issues concerning advising at MCC


  • Establish academic advising policies and procedures that support student success
  • Review changes in advising policies and make recommendations for new policies
  • Review policies as they relate to the assessment of advising
  • Processes/policies in Advisor use of Syllabus and Handbook
  • ​Promote excellence in the employment of best practices in academic advising
  • Raise the level of discourse about advising on MCC campuses, including the notion of advising as teaching
  • ​Support the growth and development of advising and advisors

The MCC Advising Council is not a governing body. We arrive at recommendations by group consensus. Once the Advising Council reaches consensus, the Advising Council will take the policy or procedure to the VP for Student Affairs for approval. Upon approval of the policy/procedure, it will be added to the Advising Council webpage.

Reports To: Maria Vazquez, Vice President of Student Affairs
Chair: KP Patrick
Vice Chair: Karen Rodgers

Membership (Two Year term Limit)

  • EVC Advisor Representative: Trisha Johnson
  • FOC Advisor Representative: Karen Rodgers
  • SOC Advisor Representative: Thomas Martinez
  • Center Advisor Representative (SRP, ATC or FRC): Tanya Lawrence
  • EVC Navigator Representative: Pernell Gatson
  • FOC Navigator Representative: Raquel Henderson
  • SOC Navigator Representative: KP Patrick
  • Transfer Program Representative: Janet McCarthy
  • Career Program Representative: Liliana Peterson
  • Math Faculty Representative: Steven Reller
  • English Faculty Representative: TBA
  • Trades Faculty Representative: Peter Walsh
  • Counselor Representative: Stephanie Albers

Permanent Seat

  • VP of Student Affairs: Maria Vazquez
  • VP of Academic Affairs: Tom McDonnell
  • Dean of Student Experiences and Innovation: James Cloyd
  • Director of Elkhorn Valley Campus: Robin Hixson
  • ADVISE and Path Forward Representative: Neena Nizar
  • Director of Financial Aid: Wilma Hjellum
  • Records Representative: Erica Schwery
  • Academic Council Chair: Karina Clarke
  • Testing Center Supervisor: James Cloyd / April Herrley
  • Director of the Contact Center: James Cloyd
  • AVP of Student Affairs and Path Forward Representative: Hollie Knake
  • Director of Recruitment: Patrick Boyle

Academic Advising Council Meeting Minutes
Academic Advising Council Charter